Mysterious Weakness Strikes Again

I have systematically removed all weakness from my body, so it is rather shocking when I’m struck by a debilitating case of massive weakness.  I rode in the 6th Little Egypt Time Trail last night.  It was a partial gravel ride, starting at Blue Sky and going up the horrible Buffalo Gap road.  While climbing the short mild hill to get to the start line I nearly turned around and went home.  I couldn’t catch my breath, my shoulders were sagging and I had a great deal of tightness in my left arm.  I looked down to see my heart rate was all of 145 beats.

To give a comparison, my average heart rate for a 3 hour ride at the Tour de Corn was a 152.  At no time in that entire ride did I feel as bad as I did climbing up to the start line last night. My average heart rate for the 40 minute TT was 141.

I found it nearly impossible to ride in the drops, my arms and shoulders felt like they were being squeezed.  At several times during the race I just shifted into an easy gear and spun, sitting up.  Seconds into the race I discovered a thirst that would not be quenched.

Several clues lead me to believe I had become massively dehydrate, my blood pressure was very low that entire evening.

 

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mysterious Weakness Strikes Again

Leave a Reply

