Hiking the Summit for the Milky Way

I hiked up the River to River trail from the Herod Hitching Post last night to the overlook.  I don’t think this overlook has an official name so I’ll call it the Summit Overlook.  My goal was to take photos of the Milky Way and perhaps some dramatic sunrise images.  It was a great trip and I got many good images.  I underestimated the cold though, it was mid 50s last night and my sleeping bag is weak.

garden of the God's Overlook 4

It was cloudy when I arrived, the was reported to clear overnight so I set the alarm on my phone for 3AM.  At 2:30 I peaked out from under my tarp and saw no stars.  Apparently my phone died overnight but I woke up myself at 4 AM.  the sky was totally clear and for the first time ever I had a clear view of the Milky Way overhead.  I took 30 second exposures like crazy for the next 30 minutes and by then there was  enough light to obscure the milky way.

garden of the God's Overlook 5

Got a few nice sunrise shots around 5:30 then hiked back.  The lack of sleep is catching up with me, but it was worth it.

milkyway1

ON a side note.  I called Shauna at 9:30PM and after 4 hours of total silence I had a bit of hesitation before I could talk, like I was worried about disturbing the animals or something.

milkyway4

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Hiking the Summit for the Milky Way

  1. Moe says:

    Cool stuff Mr. G. Impressive shots.

  2. Quan says:

    Great photos!!

  3. Glen Dale says:

    Wow! Gorgeous pics

  4. K M says:

    Excellent pics!

  5. Matt Gholson says:

    thank you guys! Thanks for checking out the blog.

  6. Jarrin Rudd says:

    http://www.cleardarksky.com/csk/
    You may already know about this, but if not it is very helpful for planning stargazing trips.

  7. D D E says:

    Great pics Matt!

  8. Kate says:

    Really beautiful.

Leave a Reply

