Not Performing Well

I rode the first Time Trail of the Little Egypt Time Trial Series the other night.  It did not go well for me.  I was unable to get my heart rate up and attempting to force it made me feel like my left arm was going to squeeze off.  Riding this Spring has not exactly been going well and I’m sort of at a loss for what is wrong.

More and more often I feel incredibly weak at the beginning of exercise, almost as if my body is trying to convince me to quit.  My heart rate is not really that high, and when I try to raise it I get this tight feeling in my left arm like there is a tourniquet around it.  If I work into exercise slowly and warm up well then it’s less likely.

Thursday night I went into the time trial with no warm up.  In less than a minute seconds Moe, who had started probably 20 seconds behind me, blew by like I was standing still.  After a few miles when I hit honker hill I quickly found myself in the lowest gear just struggling to keep the bike moving.  On the return leg my body was screaming at me to stop and get off the bike, and I was unable to really do more then just ride at tempo.

The data from the ride is telling.

spillway comparison

My maximum heart rate for this attempt is lower than last year’s average heart rate.  It looks like I wasn’t even trying and to be honest when I finished I really didn’t feel like I had, even though I was trying to get my heart rate up and was unable to.

If this was an isolated incident than I wouldn’t be all that worried, but it seems like far to many of my rides have been like this.  I just have felt like crap.

Thanks to Strava some obvious answers present themselves.   Just looking through my rides in the last year I have ridden one 76 miler almost a year ago, and one 60 mile ride 8 months ago.  In the last 8 months I’ve ridden only a handful of rides that go over 40.  Besides the lack of miles I have far less hours of activity, very few walks, no runs, just really a whole bunch of 30 minute rides on the trainer where I may have worked hard for 5 minutes here or there.

In short I suck.  I’m out of shape.  I’m chronically dehydrated and not getting enough sleep.  Or I have congestive heart failure, which I kind of doubt.

I’m planning on riding this course again next week and see what happens.

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not Performing Well

  1. ken wilson says:

    Matt, still sounds like it is your heart.  If you haven’t you need to go to a cardiologist.  This is experience talking.  Ken Clore 

  2. D D E says:

    Matt – Ken stated what I was thinking. Have it checked out.

  3. jc wise says:

    maybe you’re getting older?

  4. Matt Gholson says:

    thats kind of what I’m thinking LOL

Leave a Reply

