Rainbow Runners and Goodbye RT-1

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I will begin this post about running the way I begin every post about running.  I’m not a runner.  I suck at running, but as Eli often says when we’re out running or riding, “I don’t see anyone else out here.”  Last night Eli and I ran the Circle B run of 4.5 miles with an average of 13 minutes per mile, now keep in mind that’s trail running, there were creeks to cross, horse poop to dodge, hills to climb and trees to jump.  It’s pretty intense.

Eli can run faster then me but his strategy on our last few runs has been to follow behind me and while he’s not taking on the role of a drill instructor his presence behind me is a powerful motivator to keep moving to the best of my ability.  There many times I wanted to stop last night, but knowing he’d plow into me if I did kept me moving through the pain.

And added bonus to the run was driving the Westfalia to the trailhead.  Really no joke, a guy pulled up in the parking lot, both smoking a cig and drinking a Coors Light, he wanted to check us out, see if we were Rainbows.  See the Rainbow People used to have a mass gathering in the Shawnee Forest every year and the number of Volkswagen vans in Southern Illinois went up 1000% The entire area would literally become inundated with hippies, thought they haven’t shown in the last couple years I think the locals are still nervous.

Now the bad news.  Eli’s rail trail gravel bike was stolen from his porch last weekend.  It’s a Mongoose Newman 26 inch mountain bike with 700C road wheels stuffed into the frame and several advanced “tweaks. including a primo single speed drivetrain, and non symmetrical cockpit.  The bike has an estimated value of between 400-500 dollars, but the emotional value is far greater.  Several KOMs were set on this bike.   I wish I could show you a picture of this machine, but I can’t, its gone.  +

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Barn Door Cycling, Bikes and components, lifestyle, Running, training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rainbow Runners and Goodbye RT-1

  1. Moe says:

    I really wish it wasn’t such a long drive to get over to Circle B. I enjoy running there. That is a real bummer that someone stole Greg’s Rail Trail KOM machine. Keep an eye on craigslist and the local pawn shop. Some punk will try to get $20 for it.

    JW and I ran at Panthers Den last night. It was ultra humid. Felt like running in a steam tunnel. Was Greg cold? What is up with the sock hat?

  2. Matt Gholson says:

    Eli says a trained athlete has to stay warm?

  3. Moe says:

    LOL! He is crazy! By the way, it seems the rainbows may be moving in to Carbondale today. One of the guys from the office saw several dreadlocked hippy looking individuals walking the streets at lunch today. Greg was working in Cdale last week. Maybe he is bringing them over with him in the Westfalia…..

  4. Pingback: RT-1 is Back and The Heat is On | Barn Door Cycling

Leave a Reply

