Winter Strikes Back

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt’s been a very mild winter so far, last weekend we were riding in near 50 degree temps.  This weekend was a different story.  We had 7 folks turn out for a mountain bike ride with temps just barely 20 degrees and a strong wind, it was cold.  Before the ride I loaned my trusty 5mm hex wrench to another rider and forgot to get it back.  When we arrived at the trail head I found my wrench sitting on the bumper of Tom’s truck.  This is amazing, it sat there for the 15 mile drive, and I really like that wrench.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe ground was frozen but the riding wasn’t easy as it had frozen with all the muddy horse hoof holes intact.  Still it was way better then riding through mud.  I was on the 26 inch Cannondale Beast of the East, which performed very well.  This was the first time I’ve ridden it at the more technical One Horse Gap trails and the 26 inch wheels were a bit scary.  Even more scary was the super narrow racing type handlebar I’ve got.  It takes awhile to get used to the steering and its no where near as a comfortable downhill, though I love the bar-end position for climbing.

We woke up this morning to snowfall overnight, not a huge snowfall it looks like maybe 5 inches but it is our first actual snow of the year.  At 19 degrees its not the kind of snow that is much fun to be outside in, but Shanua and I went out to do a bit of shoveling and take some bird pictures.

864A6895 864A6927 864A6931 864A6936 864A6939 864A6958 864A6968

 

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Barn Door Cycling, Bikes and components, lifestyle, Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Winter Strikes Back

  1. capejohn says:

    Your snow photos are great. There is around 5 feet of snow on the ground here so any riding is at the fitness center on a really shitty “gym bike”. I listen to my favorite music, put my head down and ride for an hour. The bike computer says I do around 8 miles. So answering the age old question.
    “How long does it take you to ride an hour?”
    “Eight miles”.

  2. john_s says:

    Nice pics Matt! About a foot of snow here.

  3. capejohn says:

    We are on the low side. I’m driving my son to Logan airport in Boston tomorrow, Thursday. There is just over 9 feet of snow on the ground. It’s wicked pissah.

  4. Kate says:

    Those bird pictures are fantastic! One of these day’s I’m going to make it down to your area with my MTB. You can bet I’ll hit you up for suggestions.

    I’m afraid I’m to blame for this cold snap after publicly calling this a “poor excuse for winter” during the last warm weekend. Sorry about that.

  5. Matt Gholson says:

    Thanks, those pics are taken with a Canon 1D Mark 1 which is a 14 year old DSLR with a 4.4 Mega Pixel sensor. The lens is a horrible and super cheap 70-200 zoom lens. The Pics were given a HDR treatment in photoshop and the detail slider was jacked way up. They looked really weak before the photoshoping.

    Next warm weekend we get, please keep your comments to yourself LOL!

Leave a Reply

