What I Learned This Week

It’s been a good week to be a mountain biker.  The weather has been cooler and the trails outstanding.  I got three rides in, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday and all were good, well I can’t really say today’s ride was good, but I’ve had worse.

So what did I learn this week?

I maybe drinking too much caffeine.  I’ve been peeing like crazy on every ride this week, 4 or 5 times per ride, today I think 7, but I did drink a 44 ounce Mountain Dew on the way to the trails.

Don’t forget to look up during deer season.  Wednesday when I reached an intersection I decided to take a few steps off the trail to go pee.  I announced to the other riders, “Hey I’m going to go over here and pee.”  I heard the words, “Please don’t,” and I started laughing thinking it came from behind me, then I heard again with a bit more desperation, “No please don’t pee here.”  I looked up to see a bowhunter 30 foot above me perched in a climbing stand.  Opps.

Jon at OHG.

Jon at OHG.

Chocolate milk is the choice for a recovery drink.  Wednesday I got a 44 ounce MOUNTAIN DEW after the ride to celebrate, instead of my usual chocolate milk. Then I ate Chinese food and had a couple more glasses of MOUNTAIN DEW at the restaurant.  I suffered irritability, headaches, sore muscles, and a general sense of foreboding doom all that evening.

I’m faster on a single speed.  I set my fastest time up my new favorite Strava Segment on the SIR 9 single speed by a large margin.  Probably got more to do with the bikes 22 pound weight than the gears though.  The Bandersnatch is weighing in around 32 pounds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWatch out for those downed trees!  I was just riding along today at the farthest point away from the truck.  I went around a large downed log and snagged the edge of it with my back wheel.  It nearly threw me down but I recovered and laughed saying, “It’s all good,” then my back wheel exploded.  6 spokes just kind of blew out all at once.  We were near a highway and I was able to ride it back to the truck, though it was a nailbitter.

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Barn Door Cycling, lifestyle, Mountain BIking, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I Learned This Week

  1. Chyrel says:

    Sounds like you had a good week and a great ride. 🙂

  2. Steve says:

    I’m impressed your wheel still worked. Mtn Bike wheels must be much for forgiving than road bike wheels. And as a fellow Dew aficionado, I am concerned at your negative report on that delicious beverage. I must also grudgingly admit you are probably correct.

Leave a Reply

