Thursday Night Throwdown

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

heading up Stonefort Hill

heading up Stonefort Hill

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Our Thursday night ride has picked up steam recently.  We had 6 riders last Thursday night.   Weather was perfect and we got in 40 miles before dark.  It was a fast ride with an average speed over 17.  The last few miles of good roads was just Drew, Joe and I as everyone one else had already departed.  We averaged 20 doing a rotating paceline.  I was humming along at the front when I hear Joe yell, “OFF.”  I was like, “What?”  He yelled back, “ROTATE.”  I pulled off and Joe pulled through and said, “Short turns.”OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the next several miles the 3 of us rotated through and no one stayed in the wind for more then 30 seconds.  It was exciting riding, and a real quick way to eat up miles.

The ride is THursday night at 5PM starting on the rail trail near Parker Plaza.

In other news I skated 10 miles this morning at my fastest pace ever.  I tried something I’ve been thinking about doing for awhile.  I skated in bike clothes, shorts and a jersey.  While skating headwinds seem far more damaging then when on a bike.  I usually skate with big baggy shorts and a big T-shirt.  I could tell a huge difference in the tight fitting clothes, especially while skating into the wind.  When getting low and really pushing I was hitting speeds over 20 mph.  Of course the down side was that it’s now even harder to slow down when I need to stop at intersections.

 

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Barn Door Cycling, Rides, skating and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

