Should Have Stayed in Bed

I worked alot last week, a lot more than normal, in fact alot more then ever.  I began filling in on a rural mail route for the postal service and let me tell you, it wasn’t easy.  I was so engrossed in the new job that I didn’t have time to ride, in fact I rarely had time to rest and on top of that I wasn’t eating and drinking enough.  I would wake up in the middle of the night dreaming of mailboxes.  This would catch up to me.

Another skating accident.

Another skating accident.

Sunday morning I woke up early as I always do and went skating.  Sunday morning is the best time to skate since the world is mostly all still asleep.  I had this nagging feeling all morning that I was tired and that I should stay in bed, but I forced myself to get up.  I said, “self, you’ve got to stay ontop of this physical activity.”  I strapped on my 100mm skates and hit the trail.  Before I’d even skated a mile I knew I was far from normal.  I was just going through the motions.  I took a section of newly poured and unopened road that has just been constructed, it’s really rough concrete.  My left foot snagged on a rock.  I got my right foot in front of me but didn’t seem to be able to stay up.  I made the split second decision to go down on my right knee, instead of struggling to stay up.  I’ve been neglecting to wear my knee pads lately since I hadn’t even come close to falling yet this year.

As far as crashes go it was mild.  I was off my knee and moving in a second, and I barely felt it, but I knew I had just rubbed off alot of skin.  I did have my wrist guards on and avoided any damage to my hands, but I could kick myself for leaving off those knee pads.

Later that day we went to my father in laws where I shot his bow.  I haven’t shot a bow since I was around 12 and I wasn’t much good then.  I think I’m probably better now since my arrow actually hit the target, but the string grazed down my forearm and caused some painful skin damage.  It was only minor but it hurt pretty bad.  We also played “Cornhole” which is a game where you throw bean bags through a hole.  I discovered that I was a bean bag ace.  At one point I got 3 bags in a row through the hole.  Next round I called I’d make all the bags land on the board and achieved that.  I’ve always wondered why a game like “Cornhole” exists, maybe its for people who have to work all the time and don’t have the energy to do much else.

Someone has given Sanchez a new look.

Someone has given Sanchez a new look.

Finally in the afternoon I met up with Joe for a mountain bike ride.  Common sense should have told me this was a bad idea.  My leg was covered in road rash and I was already tired, but I had made plans to go and like I said, “Self you’ve got to stay ontop of this physical activity.”  Joe is the kind of guy that will pour it on and dust a guy when the race is on, but all I had to say was that I wasn’t feeling to hot.  He gave me the lead and said to just ride at whatever pace I was comfortable with.  I kept a fairly average pace and was riding better then I thought I would so I went ahead and continued the ride once we got to the half way point.

Once we returned to the halfway point I was done.  My knee had begun to stiffen up from the morning’s crash, the road rash was burning from mud and sweat, and I felt completely drained.  I took a shortcut up a fire road with a long sustained climb.  I would normally ride the steep part of this in about ten minutes, but it took me 26 minutes to make it up, mostly walking.  Then as the road flattened out I was riding about 5 mph.  I desperately wanted to get off the bike and take a nap.  I was constantly thirsty but the water from camelbak was making me sick and I couldn’t hold it down.  I began to think about cold Sprite and how I could drink a 2 liter of it.  Joe picked me up at the end of the fire road when I was just about done.

Later that night I would drink an entire 2 liter of Sprite which Shauna made a special trip to the store for while I layed on the couch in a daze.  I was only able to stomach about half a bowl of soup though.

So the moral of the story.  When you’re tired rest, and play Cornhole.

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Barn Door Cycling, lifestyle, Mountain BIking, skating, Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Should Have Stayed in Bed

  1. Kate says:

    Stinks that you fell and then felt so crappy on your ride. 😦

    The problem for me with listening to my body is that often it’s a dang liar. The “I’m too tired…” or sore or whatever else it tells me usually changes once I’m doing whatever. Of course, I’ve also had the flip side when I didn’t listen and suffered for it.

  2. Matt Gholson says:

    Thanks,

    I know exactly what you mean, I figured once I got going I’d get over my whinyness and feel fine, I usually do, but a full tilt bonk is pretty much something that there is no getting over.

Leave a Reply

