Snow, snow, and More Snow

Early this morning

Early this morning

We got our first snow of the year, and it’s been pretty massive.  I’m sure those from the North wouldn’t think much of the 9 inches of snow we got today, but for us it was kind of a big deal.  In years past I waited in anticipation for snow to fall safe in the knowledge that I would enjoy a day off work.  Snow days meant no teaching, and a day spent enjoying the outdoors.  Sadly that’s no longer the case.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I started shoveling snow this morning at 6:30 and finished around 5:30, I joked with my co workers that I was getting pay back for all those snow days spent in my pajamas.  I got a few photos of the day with my new Olympus Tough camera.  A sort of early Christmas gift for both me and Shauna.

Couldn't handle an accidently washing.

Couldn’t handle an accidently washing.

I had no choice to buy a new pocket camera, after destroying the last one.  I’ve got a Canon 1D and 1oD but Shauna doesn’t like using my SLRs and I can’t take them on bike rides.  You may have noticed that I’ve been taking less ride pictures in the last few months.  I’ve never been that happy with the camera that I’ve been using, a Canon A3300.  Not to say it didn’t take good pictures, it did, it just was slow and draggy feeling.  It didn’t help when I fell in a creek on a mountain bike ride with it, but its end came when I accidentally washed it.

IMG_3012I found a great deal on a refurb Olympus Tough TG-820, its waterproof, shock proof, has no exposed lens to get damaged, but what I really noticed was how quick and responsive it is.  It’s ready to take a picture almost as soon as you turn it on.  My mountain bike pals told me that this was the best camera for riding adventures.  Hopefully you’ll see more ride gphotos in the future.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Barn Door Cycling, lifestyle, Stories, technology (geek) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snow, snow, and More Snow

  1. K.M. says:

    Hey I have a Canon A3300 too, but I haven’t ran my thru the washer… yet.
    Great blog Mr. G, I’ve always enjoyed checking this site out after J.S. told me about it.

    • Matt Gholson says:

      Nice to hear from a fellow SMBA’r

      I’ve tried drying out my Canon in rice, no luck, it’s fried, I wouldn’t recomend washing unless you want to buy a new camera, then its a great.

  2. Steve says:

    Hey, 9″ is a respectable amount, no matter where you live. Good luck keeping the drive clear and here’s hoping the trails and streets become passible for you soon!

Leave a Reply

