HORNER, Cyclocross Vids, Dutch, Cat, Old School, Nanny State, Pop, COMBO POST

Something I haven’t experienced in quite awhile.  Boredom.  My knee is recovering nicely from Sunday’s crash, but a far more annoying problem as sprung up in it’s place, sore ribs.  When I crashed the wind was knocked out of me, I haven’t felt that in a long time, once I caught my breath and got back going I felt a tiny bit or soreness on my right ribs, when I’d hit the handlebar, but it was barely there.

Monday morning I wake up and it hurts worse.  Fortunately for me Veteran’s day gave me a reprieve from work and I pretty much did nothing all day.

Tuesday morning I wake up and it hurts worse.  I went to work and limped around, every twist, turn, bend, just about any movement with purpose hurt.  I did get to show off my wicked knee wound all scabbed up which was cool.

Wednesday morning , oh man it hurts even worse.

To pass the time I’ve rediscovered bicycle racing.  I’d honestly pretty much forgot about bicycle racing about 4 months ago.  I wasn’t even paying attention when my all time favorite rider, Chris Horner won the Vuelta.  For that I am shamed.

Hey US Champion Johnathon Page was in this race, well he was for the first lap.  In his defense riding in mud is a genetic mutation the Belgies have.

Hey US Champion Johnathon Page was in this race, well he was for the first lap. In his defense riding in mud is a genetic mutation the Belgies have.

I started downloading cyclocross videos in Dutch.  Wow.  www.cyclingtorrents.nl  Wow, watching these guys shred through 6 inches of goop, throwing down like 1000 watts of power and throwing a rooster tail of mud 6 feet in the air, its like awe inspiring.  If you want to get in the mood to ride a bike watch cyclocross, mwet and cold Belgium mudbogs.

I decided to start learning dutch.  Dag!  Hoi, Goedemorgen!  That’s about as far as I got, Babel wanted to start charging for lessons.

Itty Bitty asleep, which is pretty rare.

Itty Bitty asleep, which is pretty rare.

We picked up a cat on the side of the rail trail in the middle of nowhere a couple of months ago.  He was a young kitten in a tree screaming bloody murder as we walked by, when I rescued him from the tree he followed us to the car.   He’s settled in quite nicely.  We call him Itty Bitty Kitty, but he’s already heavier then Lucy Cat.  Likes to chase her around, and his tail, shadows, bugs, he’s already caught a mouse.  I think he’s going to be a champion cat.

IMG_2988I’m burned out on cordless phones, they’re never on their cradles, its always a massive hunt to find them, then they die?  Who got time for dat!  I’ve gone old school.  I found this massive piece of telephony in an abandoned basement.  This phone has it all, the heavy duty handset doubles as a weapon, a 12 button number pad, and its hardwire offers great security, the NSA can’t track these calls!  Take that Nanny State!

Talking about Nanny State, my wife informs me that now that it will soon be illegal to use a cell phone in a moving car, and it will also be illegal to smoke in a car with children, concealed carry of firearms is legal now, and gay marriage.  I feel much safer already, I don’t have a cell phone and don’t smoke and now I don’t have to worry about being ran over on the road while riding anymore.  Though I won’t be protected from legally armed red necks who think I’m riding my bike to another damn gay marriage.  Thanks Illinois… Oh and hows that pension disaster coming?

That fancy fan grill raised the price on this POS by 20 bucks.

That fancy fan grill raised the price on this POS by 20 bucks.

Hey while I was sitting around using my computer the other day it made a loud POP.  My high end BFG tech power supply Popped.  I remember spending big bucks for this thing at Best Buy a few years ago.  I didn’t need a high end modular power supply, I just though, well I’ll get a good one and won’t have to worry about it ever going out on me.  BFG is out of business now.

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Barn Door Cycling, lifestyle, Racing, Rants, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HORNER, Cyclocross Vids, Dutch, Cat, Old School, Nanny State, Pop, COMBO POST

  1. Steve says:

    So you think that NSA can’t monitor a landline? Interesting. 🙂

    Glad to see you’re on the mend. This was definitely an interesting combination of topics!

Leave a Reply

