Deal of the Day -Hat of the Day

IMG_2819 I’ve griped about ebay in the past, but I couldn’t stay away.  I’m a hopeless bargain hunter when it comes down to it.  I’ve been looking for some longer frames for my skates for awhile now without much luck.  I’ve been hoping that a longer frame would make me faster.  I finally found an auction on ebay.  Two sets of speed frames, wheels, bearings with an opening bid of 99 cents and I was the only bidder.  One of the frames has Swiss Bones Bearings these are top of the line bearings that would sell for 55.00 dollars.

IMG_2818

2 frames, 20 wheels, 40 bearings, all for 99 cents.

You may notice that my 84mm wheels are heavily worn in the front, I guess that's what happens when an inside only racing wheel is used on concrete

You may notice that my 84mm wheels are heavily worn in the front, I guess that’s what happens when an inside only racing wheel is used on concrete

I mounted the black “training frames” first.  They have lower quality bearings and very soft wheels.  I couldn’t believe the difference in the wheels, bumps that used to rattle me could barely be felt it was like floating.  Even though soft wheels are supposed to be slow I was faster on the long frames.

Had to do some creative spacing to get the frames to work with my bolts, need shorter bolts.

Had to do some creative spacing to get the frames to work with my bolts, need shorter bolts.

IMG_2822Now how about a new feature.  Hat of the Day from my massive hat collection that I think may have to find a new home soon.  Today’s hat, a Worlds Finest newsboy cap made of 100% Wool and featuring a unique double buttoned brim.

 

 

IMG_2823

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Barn Door Cycling, lifestyle, skating and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deal of the Day -Hat of the Day

  1. Steve says:

    Hat Of The Day. I like it!

Leave a Reply

