Going Rigid and Bonking Hard

Switching forks is very easy, just take off the stem and the fork will slide off, or if stuck you’ll need to give it a good whack to get it off.

The fork on my mountain bike has been giving me a few problems, it definitely needs some work, in fact it may be past needing work, it may just be ready for the great mountain bike trail in the sky.  I removed it and replaced it with a rigid fork.  There was a time when it was an oddity to have any suspension on a bike, now its an oddity not to.

We rode at an area known as camp Ondessonk, which is a youth camp that connects up with lots of government land.  We rode about 14 miles in about 5 hours, it may have been the slowest ride I’ve ever been on, we made several stops for little this and that’s, and waited to regroup several times, not that I’m complaining because the the area is really beautiful.

After about 3 hours I began to feel weak.  I had not eaten enough.  This is a problem I dealt with back when I started riding with the East Siders.  They have to be doping, how can they ride 5 hours on a bottle of water and a package of crackers.  It’s funny but I remembered after this ride how I came up with several ways to get enough calories.  I made up a high potency energy drink for my bottles, I carried several bars and a bags of candy and ate every chance I got, whether I was hungry or not.

Getting the crown race off can be tricky, I usually use a flat blade screwdriver and a hammer, though there is a tool for the job.

Got my bike a bit muddy yesterday.

I took one powerbar yesterday and the last couple hours of the ride were like being in a haze.  My stomach felt like an empty black hole, we stopped at a gas station one way home and I drank a 52 ounce Mountain Dew.  That would be illegal in New York, I don’t know how I’d recover if I lived there.

Besides my lack of food the ride was challenging, everything was wet from recent persistent light rain.  The nearly constant deadfall trees over the trail were easy to hop over, but my rear tire kept spinning or sliding especially as I got more fatigued and slow.  The rigid fork was really nice at first and gives the bike a real positive and direct feel, but after a while my hands, arms and shoulders were getting beat.

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Barn Door Cycling, Bikes and components, Mountain BIking, Rides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

