Turkish Post and Inline Skating Blisters

A double post today, exciting eh?

My doorbell rang.  I answered it.  The postwoman had package I needed to sign for.  It was a tube just about the right size to put a stick of dynomite in.  I scratched my head, “what could this be,” I thought to myself.  I noticed the strange foreign writing and the sticker that said Turkish Post and my imagination kicked into overdrive.

This package was obviously state secrets smuggled out of Iran and accidently posted to me, or maybe it was bomb parts meant for Al Quida.  I relunctatnly signed for the package and opened it.  There was a spoke inside.

If you remember back in June I broke a spoke on my Mavic Ksyrium rear wheel.  The first thing I did was go home and search the internet for replacement spokes, I found someone selling them on ebay and bought one without even reading the auction.  It was located in Turkey.  When I realized that I went to Dan’s Comp in Mt. Vernon and they fixed my wheel.  It took two months to get that spoke from Turkey.

In domestic news I’ve continued my exploration of inline skating to the dismay of of my feet.  I skated 6 miles the other day using thick wool socks and only got a minor blister so I thought I was good.

I tried yesterday using two pairs of socks and after 4 miles I had worn a patch of skin off my right heel.  On my 6 mile day I had wrapped my right foot in tape and the got a blister on my left.  Its become obvious to me these skates are too big.  Now I’ve got to go buy a pair that fit.

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Barn Door Cycling, Stories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Turkish Post and Inline Skating Blisters

  1. Shon says:

    Do you think is was held up in customs?… at least now you’ll have an extra spoke… 🙂

  2. rlhoover says:

    It looks like you are taking up a good cross-training discipline. But then maybe you just need to suffer like all artists!!

  3. Matt Gholson says:

    I’m thinking it had to be in customs, or Turkey has the worlds slowest postal system

    And yes I love to suffer, I’ve got it down to an art form.

  4. Pingback: Lance 3.0 Doping Edition | Barn Door Cycling

Leave a Reply

