BRAG Day 4 and 5

Just completed today’s 70 mile ride from Roswell to Winder Georgia, and now I’m laying on the floor of a school typing this.  Today was the hardest ride thus far, about 5000 feet of climbing, hardly ever anything flat.  It was a fun route, lots of turns, lots and lots of hills.  It also marked the first time I had to ride in a sag wagon on a ride.

My chain came off and wrapped around between the hub and cassette so tight I couldn’t pull it out.  I had to get a ride a few miles back to the first SAG stop where mechanic helped me out.  He did a great job and only charged me 5 bucks.  Sweet!  I got to ride a few bonus miles today but still got to the next town plenty early.

I’ve really enjoyed this tour but I would have enjoyed it much more if I wasn’t feeling the ill effects of a saddle sore.  Its not so bad as long as I sit a certain way on my saddle, but if I ever hit it I feel a great deal of pain.  I talked to a guy on a high end Pinarello with a very out of place looking Spongy Wonder.  Like me he used to have a problem with saddle sores until he tried this saddle.  I’d like to try one but they look so weird.

This looks pretty Southern

Yesterday we spent the night in Roswell which will probably go down as the nicest town of the tour, their Mayor is an avid rider and it seemed like they pulled out all the stops to make our stay perfect.  We had a lay over day and I only did a short ride, kind of low down really.  I went out on a ten mile ride and caught Jason on mile 95 of his 106 mile haul.  It may be the only time I could keep up with him, and he still beat me up a couple of hills.

Earlier in the day I took an adventure walk though town, and part of the Chattahoochee Natural Area, saw several mansions, a huge church, the ruins of an old mill, the South’s very first apartment complex, and a covered bridge.  Ended the walk at Krispy Kream for some Southern Key Lime Doughnuts.  Sweet.

Two more days of the tour to go, only 90 miles, I’m looking forward to returning home, but wouldn’t be opposed to a little more Southern Hospitality.

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Barn Door Cycling, lifestyle, Rides and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to BRAG Day 4 and 5

  1. Steve says:

    Great riding and way to overcome adversity. Thanks for taking the time to file these reports during your tour. Your immediate impressions make for interesting reading. I don’t suppose a dork disk would have helped with your deraillment, would it?

  2. Matt Gholson says:

    lol i told the mechanic i was going home to put on a dork disk. My guess is the set screw must have backed out a bit.

  3. Shon says:

    Thanks for sharing! Love the pictures! I’d love to do one of these multi-day tours someday. I don’t think my family is ready for me to be gone for a week on a bike adventure, though.

Leave a Reply

