Tornado Touches Down in Harrisburg

This morning around 5 AM I was woke up by sirens, but It didn’t look like there was that much going on out the window so I went back to bed.  I got back up at 5:30 for my morning walk, the internet and phone were out.   I knew something was up because cars were everywhere and sirens were all around.  Still I saw no damage around the uptown area where I walk so I assumed there must have been some major storm damage South of town.  I could see that there didn’t seem to be power on that side of town. 

I was ready to leave for work when my Dad drove up to see if we were OK and he informed me of a tornado touching down near Wal-Mart, possible deaths and people trapped.  Shauna and I got on our bikes and rode around town taking pictures.  People were walking around stunned and talking to their neighbors throughout the South Side of town.  Small children were playing, happy to have a day off of school, and those who had damage, sometime complete devastation were walking around the area looking for photos, clothes or anything that they couldn’t replace.

There are 4 confirmed deaths at this time.

There are 6 confirmed deaths at this time.

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Barn Door Cycling, lifestyle, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tornado Touches Down in Harrisburg

  1. Dale Vogel says:

    Hey Matt, I’m glad to hear you and your family are o.k. I also saw on the SMBA site that Eli and Cumnz seemed to make it through safely. Thank God for that! If you need help with anything let me know. When everything gets back to some semblance of normal, I’ve gotta think there’s some serious trailwork that will need to be done.

  2. shawn moore says:

    Glad to see you and your wife are safe and sound. Thanks for the photos. I wish I wasn’t working today so I could bring the saws over and help people out.

  3. Steve says:

    I’m so very glad to learn you and Shauna are ok. When I heard about the storms on the radio, my thoughts turned immediately to you. All the best to you and your family/friends. You are in our thoughts and prayers.

  4. rlhoover says:

    Matt, real glad to know that you and your wife are ok. It clicked with me where this is and I wanted to find out about you and Miles. Praying for your continued safety.

  5. Matt Gholson says:

    thanks everyone for your thoughts and prayers for our community. Many of us were very lucky and some of us weren’t. There is alot of help on the way and there are alot of hard working people in this town. Especially alot of hard working people with chainsaws and pickup trucks.

  6. lampenj says:

    Reblogged this on joseph lampen and commented:
    This is one of the blogs I follow. I first learned of the tornadoes through this blog and was immediately shocked. These pictures are a simple reminder of the immense and destructive power of nature.

  7. indyink says:

    I had to photograph a post-tornado disaster in Missouri in 2002. It takes a lot out of you. I’m sorry for this town–it’s heartbreaking– and glad you’re all right. Chin up. The fallout of a natural disaster is difficult, but it is possible to recover. Thanks for sharing.

  8. JC Wise says:

    that’s the best pics I’ve seen of the damage. way to go. way to heed the sirens. you’re just like your dad.
    jc

Leave a Reply

