The DIrty South 100K

Someone is hosting a ride in the beautiful Shawnee National Forest in a couple of weeks.  It looks pretty good, I think I’ll ride.

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Mountain BIking, Rides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The DIrty South 100K

  1. Steve says:

    That is a great ride poster! I hope you do it – they look like good people.

  2. Jim Russell says:

    Just curious, which bike are you taking to a ride like this? I tried to ride my road bike on gravel once, it didn’t work so well. Doing 30 or 40 miles on pavement using a mountain bike with knobby tires, doable I guess.

    • Matt Gholson says:

      I’ve recently put 30c Cyclocross tires on my Nashbar Touring bike. I’ve ridden gravel for extended periods of time on 25c tires wihtout too much problem but these tires have some tread and more volume. They worked real well on the rail trail last night.

  3. JC Wise says:

    WTF?!?!?! I’ve seen these rides in other places and thought they sounded like fun. I’d really like to see the course. I wonder…

  4. Matt Gholson says:

    I’m pre-riding the course on Sunday I think if you want to go.

  5. JC Wise says:

    better drive the course. gravel roads may be for shit and the graders have been out.

Leave a Reply

