Its Kind of warm for February

I woke up yesterday morning to a 55 degree temperature outside.  I decided to skip the morning jog/walk and go for a ride instead.  When I got home from work at 4:30 it was 65 so the wife and I decided to ride the rail trail.  Two bike rides on February first, both with nothing more than a long sleeve jersey and vest.  That’s crazy warm. 

I was talking to one of my riding pals the other day and the warm temperatures came up, which leads to global warming.  He assured me that global warming is bunk, it’s just that the planets in a warm cycle right now.  It’s like saying, don’t worry about that giant bleeding wound on your leg, your body is supposed to do that, it’ll stop when you run out of blood.

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Barn Door Cycling, lifestyle, Rants, Rides, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Its Kind of warm for February

  1. Steve says:

    Washington, DC, averages seven inches of snow per year. This year we have had barely a trace. Two winters ago, we had 50 inches. I suggest that looking at three months of localized weather data and extrapolating global trends in temperature variance is similar to checking your speed on a mountain descent and saying, “Wow! We’re averaging 35 mph for the past mile. I should finish this century in less than three hours!”

  2. Matt Gholson says:

    Yeah, you’re right, I’m kind of simplifying something really complex, I don’t claim to understand the science of it, so its easy to just say its warm, it must be global warming. I just read in two feet of asfault that its El Nino, so there’s my explanation.

    It does seem to me that weather has been very dramatic in the last few years and with a majority of the scientific community in agreement that humans are responsible for an increase in global temperatures it might be worth taking a look at.

Leave a Reply

