2011 Barn Door Awards: Rookie of the Year

And the Winner is… Jim

Jim Russell connected up with me and some of my riding pals through this blog and went from short easy rides to completing a back-breaking Williams Hill Loop near the end of summer.  On one of our first rides together we went out on one of the hottest days of the year and he ran out of water so I left him on the side of the road under a shade tree.  Eventually I went back looking for him and he’d already started heading home.  Despite that rocky start to our riding association he continued to ride with us when his schedule allowed it. 

Many people talk to me about riding but when they get the call inviting them on a ride they never seem to have the time.  It’s rare when someone talks the talk then walks the walk.  I hope Jim stays in shape over winter and jumpd back into riding in Spring. 

Tomorrow I’ll wrap up the 2011 Barn Door Awards by announcing the Barn Door Cyclist of the Year.

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Barn Door Cycling, Best of and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2011 Barn Door Awards: Rookie of the Year

  1. Ontdrew says:

    My vote goes to Matt Gholsen for Barn Door Cyclist of the year. Seriously, I really enjoy your blog and you are one committed cyclist. You deserve some recognition!

  2. Matt Gholson says:

    Thank you, I appreciate it and I’m really glad you enjoy the blog. I rode a lot this year and I achieved a few of my goals, but as the award giver I have pulled myself out of running for the award.

  3. Steve says:

    Congratulations, Jim!

  4. Jim Russell says:

    Well Matt, thanks for the compliment; but most cyclists can ride faster, ride farther and are much more dedicated than I.

    This is my first year at cycling and I was somewhat surprised at how difficult a long ride can be. Hopefully I will be in somewhat better shape next year. Been riding the trainer occasionally; weather hasn’t been too great for riding, at least for me. Will be riding more next year.

    I am amazed when I read the blog over at Miles Stoneman’s site; the guy rides 200 kilometers in weather that I wouldn’t walk to the mailbox in.

Leave a Reply

