2011 Barn Door Awards: Bike of the Year

And the Winner Is… Vasago Bandersnatch

OK its true that my Bandersnatch is like a 2009 model or something, but it was new for me in 2011, specifically Jan 2011.  I went from riding a full suspension 26er with 5.5 inches of travel to a steel frame 29er with no inches of travel and a rigid fork and it was the biggest improvement I’ve ever made. 

I put hundred of miles on the bike this year, which is along for me because I only pretend to be a mountain biker in the winter.  In fact if this was summer there is no way the Bandersnatch would be bike of the year because I forgot I owned it, but its winter time now and I ride mountain bikes in the winter.

So what makes the Bandersnatch so good.  First its simple it has no suspension pivots to worry about and no shocks to fiddle with.  Secondly, the 29 inch wheels roll over stuff better there is no doubt in my mind about it, especially at lower speeds.  Thirdly, its steel so I don’t have to worry about it breaking.  Finally, the geometry seems perfect, I feel like I have the bike under control, I can climb anything with it and I have yet to go over the handlebars.  

Tune in tomorrow when one lucky organization will win the coveted Barn Door Ride of the Year

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Barn Door Cycling, Best of, Mountain BIking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2011 Barn Door Awards: Bike of the Year

  1. Steve says:

    Very interesting. I wish I owned enough bikes so that I could have a competition for “Bike of the Year.” I really need to look at getting a steel frame. It would probably be a touring bike as I have not yet caught the MTB bug, but by all accounts steel is cool.

    BTW, I’m enjoying your awards series and look forward to Ride of the Year!

Leave a Reply

