Recovery, Palestine Map, Trainer

I got on my mountain bike and rode a quarter mile to the hardware store this afternoon.  First time I’ve ridden a bike in two weeks,  it’s was the longest I’ve gone without riding for I don’t know how long.  My wrist was a little sore when I got back.  I went to the doctor this morning to get the stitches removed.  I was told everything looks good but to continue to go easy on my hand, nothing to strenuous.  I may be ready to road bike but I’m not sure about mountain biking right now. 

I recently got my Trek Fuel EX back into riding shape while I’ve been recovering and took it for my super short trip today.  I forgot what’s like to ride a longer travel full suspension bike.  It’s like they store up energy and then spring forward and big bumps get soaked up.  I definitely want to get out and ride it on some trails.  I know that the excitement of all that suspension movement will ware off when I’m trying to haul it up a big climb.

I’ve been riding the trainer and running for the last two weeks, nothing every exciting and nothing really worth posting about.  Ran the farthest I’ve ever ran last weekend, 7.75 miles.  I ran almost the whole time at around a 12 minute per mile pace.  I’m doing the newest sufferfest video which is basically 5×4 minutes nearly all out sprints that as the name, “A Very Dark Place” implies leaves you nearly blacked out from oxygen debt. 

JC suggested I should start cataloging the East Side mountain bike trails and make a section here on the blog for them.  I thought it was a pretty good idea since the knowledge of trails around here is considered a mystic art, so I’m going to take a stab at Kung Fu Cartography.  I compiled all my Palestine gps data and realized I’m missing several trails and not exactly sure where all the trails are.  I had to gain a key piece of data so Shauna and I went out and did a 4 mile walk this afternoon to try to find a missing trail.  I’m still a ways from being done but here’s what I have so far. 

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Bikes and components, lifestyle, Mountain BIking, Running, Stories, training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recovery, Palestine Map, Trainer

  1. Steve says:

    Glad to see you are on the mend. Don’t do something dumb like me and rush your return – you’ll just end up injured for a longer time. Your cartography skills are impressive!

Leave a Reply

