Harrisburg Biathlon by mgholson at Garmin Connect – Details

Harrisburg Biathlon by mgholson at Garmin Connect – Details.

http://connect.garmin.com:80/activity/embed/120948222
I took my Mom’s advice and did my own little biathlon Sunday. I left my house and… ran 3.1 miles. I had to do a lap around the block because miscalculated the miles.  I did the biathlon almost in exactly the same time I thought I would.  36 minutes for the run and about 50 minutes for the ride.  I never pushed really hard until near the end of the bike ride.  My knees bothered me a bit after the run, I found I couldn’t push nearly as hard after the run but I still did the ride about the speed I expected.

My total time is 1 hour and 29 minutes so that would have put me very close to last in most age groups, but not last.  I’m certain the miles are very close to the Colorfest Biathlon, but I bet the Anna route would be much hillier.

You can check out my pulse data and see that I wasn't pushing as hard as I have in the past, but was keeping a good effort up.

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Rides, Running, training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Harrisburg Biathlon by mgholson at Garmin Connect – Details

  1. Steve says:

    It sounds like you did the run first. Is that normal for biathlons? I ask because triathlons normally save running for last. Great job, by the way!

  2. Competition is soooo overrated. It matters less how you do than who shows up. I did the Anna Bi one time and finished well ahead of many people much younger than me. But I was 5th in my age group. Out of medal contention. If those 4 guys had been somewhere else that day – I WOULD HAVE WON! But they were in Anna. I’m not much on competitive anything. I think it mostly props up otherwise sagging egos. Even competing with yourself on “the same course” is bogus. The weather/traffic/road conditions can never be exactly equal. So the results are worthless. More ego-propping. Setting and reaching a goal – a one time goal – is real. And it builds character.

  3. JC Wise says:

    what you missed was the thrill of racing against all the other people. something about lining up with a group of like minded people adds an adrenaline rush even though you have no chance of “winning”. there is always that guy just up ahead that you have to pass to boost your ego. and getting passed by someone who doesn’t look like a rider knocks your ego back down. sorry miles, it’s not bogus, it’s fun.
    13 out and back is pretty hilly. can you map the anna route and see how it compares?
    steve- this is the only biathlon I’ve ever done but it is run and then ride. some do a run-ride-run combo that would be a real killer.

  4. Matt Gholson says:

    Steve how do you embed those gamin maps into your blog, I’ve tried and just get a link? Thanks for the comments by the way.

    As far as competition goes I can see it both ways but I know, because my heart rate data proves it, that I perform much stronger when there is even a hint of competition. Competition is written in our DNA and while I sometimes I hate it I think its a pretty good thing overall. My goal as a cyclist has been to ride faster and my goal for the biathlon was an hour and a half, which JC made me think was totally unreasonable. I was really excited when I checked my clock and saw I was going to beat my goal.

    My favorite rides are always the one where there is some kind of competition, trying to set a pace the radio-shack kid couldn’t hold last week, or trying to beat JC up a climb and getting yelled at by the Possum cop. Those are the rides I’ll remember.

    I’ll look into mapping the Anna course, but I’m sure its got to be hillier and harder.

    • Steve says:

      I paste the Garmin screen image into MS Paint and crop it so only the map shows. I then save the image and post it in my blog. Just before you post the image in WordPress, replace the image’s file pathname with the URL to your Garmin website for the ride. You now have created a hyperlink to your Garmin page.

Leave a Reply

