Is it Winter Yet?

Well I’ve spent the week more or less holed up in the house after work blowing my nose and irrigating my sinuses.  This cold has thrown a big monkey wrench into my training plans.  I had a month to prepare for the Oct 8th biathalon I want to do and after wasting the first two weeks I planned to buckle down for the last two then I get sick, go figure.

The training bike on the trainer.

I felt good enough to get a little exercise tonight but the rain was going to keep me indoors and I didn’t really feel like going to the gym so I hauled a bike upstairs and fixed it to my new Kurt Kinetic Trainer.  Now I know what you’re thinking, Gholson you’re way to cheap to buy a 350 dollar bike trainer.  That’s right I would never buy a trainer like this if I hadn’t found a great deal on craigslist.

The first thing I noticed is how much more stable the wide base trainer is.  I could stand and hammer and not worry about flipping over.  I also noticed that it was much smoother and quiter.  Then I realized the flywheel was giving my ride a more road like quality.

I can’t wait for winter training season, no really, I’m excited about the regimented training.

Well I think I’m going to do that biathalon.  I know I can run a 5K, its just going to take me probably 40 minutes.  I was starting to noticed a bit more speed on my runs in the week before I got sick and I actually did put in many miles of running this late summer and I really doubt one week would really make a difference.

This Saturday I’m doing the http://www.tourdehope.com  one of several newer area rides.  I’ve thought about doing this ride 3 times in a row and always talk myself out it.  Mainly because its on alot of roads that I ride.

Well I’m going to go drain mucus out of my head, good night.

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in lifestyle, Rants, Rides, Running, training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is it Winter Yet?

  1. Steve says:

    You’ll do great. Think of it as an unplanned taper!

Leave a Reply

