Awesome Weekend Ruined by Awesome Cold

My weapons in the war against colds.

For the last two weeks I’ve been feeling that slight twinge of a sore throat and then somehow my body has shut it down or perhaps this sore throat is crafty and only pretended to be dead and instead secretly gathered strength.  Either way  I am now sick.  

Last night I found myself feeling weak, sore in the neck and shoulders, and suffering from a sore throat.  I went to sleep at 9PM and woke up at 5:30.  The plan was to take the road bike, the wife’s road bike, and my mountain bike to the Misaligned Minds charity ride in Paducah KY, then go on to Land Between the Lakes to camp and do some mountain biking. 

It took me about 30 minutes to put some clothes on and I messed with my rack for about 15 minutes and told my very unhappy wife that I couldn’t do it.  She understood but was very disappointed as she had been looking forward to this trip a great deal. 

I’m hoping for a speedy recovery, I’d really like to go mountain biking tomorrow and not feel like death at work Monday.  I’ve been taking Zicam which I believe will help reduce a cold’s duration a little bit and I recently bought some Cepacol which has drastically improved the pain from my sore throat.  What do you do to fight a cold?

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in lifestyle, Rants, Rides, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Awesome Weekend Ruined by Awesome Cold

  1. James C Wise says:

    whiskey, lots of whiskey. with a wedge of lemon, maybe.

  2. Jim Russell says:

    I thought Zicam was taken off the market a while back due to the loss of hearing issue, I guess not. Anyway, antiviral drugs are available for the flu but I don’t think you can get a script for the common cold, I could be wrong.

    Actually a lot of this has been going around the last few weeks.

    There is an old saying that a cold will last 2 weeks or you can go to the doctor and they will cure it in 14 days.

  3. Matt Gholson says:

    There was a zicam nasal spray that was taken off the market because some people were losing their sense of smell from it. The zicam now is the same stuff in cough drop form. Essentially its zinc glutamate which is suppose to give the rhino virus a hard time binding to cells in your body. I think it works though I have no proof and don’t care to experiment on myself.

    I was already taking antibiotics for a different issue and got a cold anyway which has surprised everyone I’ve told, I gues they don’t understand the difference between a viral and bacterial infection.

Leave a Reply

