Great Egyptian Omnium Criterium

Today the Great Egyptian Omnium changed venues to John A Logan College in Carterville IL.  I heard lots of praise for the volunteers, the organizers, the course, the riders, the only complaint was the heat and there isn’t much anyone can do about that.  I spent some time talking to one of the employees of Williamson County Tourism which is one of the driving forces behind the race and it sounds like this event is here to stay.  It makes me proud to have an event like this so close to home and I look forward to seeing it grow.     

Shauna and I toured the course and hung out for awhile on “Continetnal Corner” where the Continental/Bike Surgeon crew were giving the race more cowbell.  The Bike Surgeon is the only bike shop in Southern Illinois that promotes cycling in the area and events like this make me want to take a moment to tell those guys how awesome they are.

We caught the tail end of the Cat 5 race, which is where as a beginner I would have been, we watched a Cat 3, the Women’s race and the Masters 40+ where my friend Rob edged out a nationally ranked Cat 1 racer from California for the win. 

I took more photos today and found myself wishing I had a better understanding of autofocus on my camera not to mention better lenses as well, but fortunately some of the photos are presentable.  Here’s some of my favorites and you can see all of them on flickr

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in lifestyle, Rides, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Great Egyptian Omnium Criterium

  1. Ashlee Spiller says:

    Great Photos!!!!! Such an enjoyable two days of racing!!! Well, until the last race when the rain came in. 😦 Oh well, not like you can change the weather!

Leave a Reply

