The hardest I’ve ever rode

I’ve been invited to a time trial held every Tuesday night near Carbondale for several months, last Tuesday I was in the area, actually returning a time trial helmet I had borrowed and not used during the Tour de Corn, and I found they had a pretty good turn out.   I finally decided to go last night, only one other person showed up.  I made the best of it and rode hard.

How hard did I ride?

As hard as I could, I don’t think I could have squeezed one more watt out of my body, when I finished the ride I was trashed.  The route is 7 miles out and 7 miles back and a hilly windy rode, the last mile was pretty much up hill and fairly steep, I’d say it was a challenging course.

The guy who showed up asked how long I thought it might take me to ride it.  I kind of planned on an average of 18 and guesstimated 50 minutes. (ed note: not a bad guess but it would have been 47 minutes.)  Keith, the other guy, said he’d give me a ten minute head start, he said a good time for him was between 41-42 minutes. 

 

During the ride I used a combination of leg pain and heart rate to gauge my effort, the heart rate meter was useful in the easier sections to watch for a lull in my effort.  Near the turn around I ran across The Bike Surgeon ladies night bike ride, see Carbondale is a big enough town where they have bike shops, bike riders, and bike rides, they even have a special ride just for ladies, shame its an hour away. 

I turned around and started heading back down the road towards the women cyclists and they gave me both something to chase and a little extra shot of motivation.  It wasn’t long before I passed them.  The way back was easier than the way out and I found my average speed was recovering from the big climb.  I couldn’t believe that I was going to finish this ride in 41 minutes and 45 seconds.  At 20.5 mph that’s my highest average speed for a ride ever.   

That’s enough patting myself on the back, for now I have a feeling if I hadn’t been watching the Tour de France for the past 4 days and chasing down a group of lady cyclists I wouldn’t have been nearly as fast.  By the way, more on the Tour de France in my next post. 

 

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in lifestyle, Rides, training, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The hardest I’ve ever rode

  1. Steve says:

    You have beat my nemesis – the 20 mph barrier. How does it feel? Is there some sort of sonic boom? 🙂

  2. Matt Gholson says:

    no sonic boom but I cried alot.

Leave a Reply

