Riding Fast with JC and Luke

 
Today’s ride with Luke

Did two rides this week that have both left me sore, the first was with JC and the second was Luke.  The routes were about the same, mixture of hills and flats.  We raced side by side up most hills on both rides, and attempted to kill each other.  There was a little bit of drafting on both rides but not alot as we never want to sully our efforts by sucking wind.  I’ll admit I had to pull into Luke’s draft a few times to keep up. 

Tommorow I’m taking a bit of a recovery ride with my friend Terry, it’ll be a laid back 55 mile back road cruise, we’re leaving at 5:30 to beat the heat and the pace will be mild.   I tried to get ahold of a guy who reads this blog, who I went hiking with once, who lives in Harrisburg, who works with my sister-in-law, who rides a road bike, but I couldn’t get his phone number, if you want to ride with us tommorow or anytime look up my number in the phone book and give me a call. 

You can see my heart rate on this graph and the one big sharp hill we climbed at stonefort.

I got this sticker once on a ride from a bike shop that said, “define your life, ride a bike” I didn’t get it at first, but now it makes perfect sense.  More and more I’m becoming defined by bike riding.  Can there be too much of a good thing?

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in lifestyle, training and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Riding Fast with JC and Luke

  1. Steve says:

    Can there be too much of a good thing? I don’t know, but aren’t you the fella who was getting bored with cycling just a year ago? You’ve had quite a turnaround and by the looks of your self-portraits, your continued improvement is great!

  2. Jim Russell says:

    Hi Matt, I am the guy (Jim Russell) who led the hike at GOG. Thanks for the offer for the ride today but I made plans to take my wife to Paducah KY, so I rode in the Kiwanis glory day bike ride at Mayfield KY. About 60 riders showed up and actually it was a fairly nice ride, it was well organized and had some nice routes. Lots of rolling hills and very little auto traffic. Since I am kind of new at bike riding and 53 years old, my knees will only let me ride for about 2 or 3 hours. I usually do about 30 or 40 miles then call it quits, maybe I will be in better shape in a few months.

    Jim Russell, jamesstar57@hotmail.com Cell: 618 841 0255.

Leave a Reply

