First Overnight Trip

Wednesday I packed up my Nashbar Touring Bike and took a 72 mile ride to Giant City State Park where I camped and then rode home the next morning.  I was somewhat stunned to see that I was only 35 miles away from my house as the crow flys so I managed to shorten the route down to 50 miles for the way back. 

I was alone and to be honest nothing interesting happened, but I still enjoyed the trip.  I’m happy to say the Nashbar had no problems handling the load, and I had no problems, thanks to super low gearing, getting over the hills.  I look forward to a longer tour in the future. 

Since I was alone and nothing interesting happened I think I’ll just show you all the pictures I took, it should give you a good idea what its like to ride in Southern Illinois.

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Rides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Overnight Trip

  1. Steve says:

    You’re first overnight on a touring bike you built yourself and nothing interesting happened? I find that very hard to believe! Did you have any lessons learned on loading the bike or what to bring? On a slightly related topic, what do you think of Rivendell touring bikes? They make a big deal out of getting riders into a proper position with their bike geometry. They argue that most bikes are set up like racing machines, which is not ideal for touring.

  2. Matt Gholson says:

    Yeah honestly nothing interesting happened, as far as loading the bike it went surprisingly easy, but for an overnight trip I really didn’t need much, planning and packing for a longer tour would be much more difficult. As far as Rivendell bikes, you’ve inspiried a future post because I have alot to say about them! Thanks!

  3. Steve says:

    I look forward to your post. I think I know where you’re going to come down on this question! 🙂

Leave a Reply

