A Funny Thing Happened and Tech Stuff

Despite strong winds I got in two rides this week, one with Shauna and one without.  There is a funny story to go with the first ride, wanna here it, great here it goes.

We were riding Old 13, which is a section of old highway left behind when the route was moved about half mile and replaced with a nice 4 lane, which makes Old 13 almost completely unused.  About five miles into the ride I needed to pee, and since we were getting close to the hilly section of the ride I cranked hard up some hills leaving Shauna behind and pulling into a secluded power substation located at the top of one of the hills.  There was not a soul around and I was completely sheltered from the road so I didn’t even go find a bush to block the view as I was peeing.  I looked down then looked up and there was an old man standing about 20 feet straight in front of me. He had been standing behind a small building and had stepped out into view.  

I quickly turned around and finished then told the guy I was sorry he had to see that.  He didn’t seem to mind and warned me his wife would be pulling in to pick him up and she couldn’t see with a “shit” so I should really watch out for her.  Well thanks for the advice buddy.

My solo ride is what I call the Golf Course Run, which is essentially a loop around the outskirts of Harrisburg.  My record for this ride is an 18.8 average speed from last July and I wanted to see how I compared.  Now there is a slightly funny story to go with this ride too.  I currently have two computers on my CAAD 9.  One is a Cateye OS, which I will write about one day, essentially Cateye tried to make a computer that was more user-friendly and more like a real computer, it has a great view screen, but unfortunately mine is in French, it took me a long time to figure out how to get the display in English units.  The other computer on my bike is the Polar s725 that records ride data. 

As soon as I started the clock on my time trial I noticed the Cateye computer wasn’t working, but that didn’t matter because the Polar was.  Despite the strong winds I was putting down some impressive speed.  I could still feel the lingering effects of my cold though and I don’t think my body is back to 100% yet.  I finished with a 20 mile per hour average, and was very happy with myself.  Then I started thinking, I never changed the computer over from my mountain bike wheel size when I used it last Sunday.  The 29er mountain bike wheel circumference is 2300mm the road bike is 2100.  So it thinks I went farther and faster than I really did.

The best my records indicate the route is 13 miles, my incorrect computer came up with 13.7 miles.  When I recalculated I came up with a 18.5 average.  Still pretty good for a route with several turns, stop signs, hills, and strong headwinds I think my winter training has paid off.

I had some computer problems this week, my main desktop got some malware, but since I’m running Windows Vista I just booted off the installation disk and let the recovery environment restore my system.  Back when I ran XP I would have probably just reinstalled Windows, which leads me to a new problem.  I’ve been running Vista for 3 years and have never reinstalled it.  I have 3 years worth of bloat on my computer and its starting to show.  incredibly it still works pretty good, good enough where I really don’t want to go to the trouble to install Windows 7. 

I have 2 identical 250GB hard drives that would be perfect to set up in a RAID-0 array to get faster disk access, and I’d really like to go to Windows 7 because it works so well on my tablet.  But then do I go with x32 or x64.  It looks like much of the hassle that used to be finding 64 bit drivers is gone, but I have a few older pieces of software and hardware that probably won’t work in a 64 bit environment.  Mainly the polar program and infrared device that connects with the watch.  I really wish I’d shelled out the cash for a Garmin so I wouldn’t have this problem.

One last thing, I’m thinking of buying a Kindle.

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Bikes and components, lifestyle, Stories, technology (geek), training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Funny Thing Happened and Tech Stuff

  1. jc wise says:

    kindle is $114 with ads. just sayin’
    why don’t you use a stopwatch? seems easier and average speed doesn’t tell you anything anyway. you could have stopped for a sammich or something.
    check out autoruns for malware. I’ve had good luck with it. boot into safe mode, run autoruns, clear check marks wherever you see something suspicious, reboot. done!
    autoruns

Leave a Reply

