VeloNews Rocks!

This is real honest to God Journalism!

I’ve made fun of bicycling magazine in the past for what I feel is an over abundance of fluff.  Now lets look at something a bit more positive.  I was browsing at Barnes and Noble this weekend and came across the newest issue of VeloNews.  Look at this cover.  I mean click the thumbnail and really look at this. 

They’ve built a testing rig that measures Torsional stiffness under a pedaling load.  That is awesome.  They review 4 bikes over 8 pages and offer wind tunnel tests, the stiffness test, and subjective rider tests.  This is what I want to see in a bike review.  They actually did something instead of write some nonsense about buttery smooth handling and a magical ride all day formula.  Check this out, “When I was a mechanic for Team CSC in 2006, I told Cervelo they should make a zero-setback seatpost.”  This review was written by someone who was a Protour team mechanic.  I’d say he knows a thing or two about bikes. 

Granted, the cheapest bike they reviewed was 4,900 dollars and I’ll likely never spend that much on any bike, but a nearly identical bike, although a bit heavier and less blinged out, can probably be bought for less than half of that.  Besides the best bike reviews I’ve ever read, this issue includes great articles like a historical look at the Spring Classics and an article explaining how American and English teams have come to dominate the European peloton. 

VeloNews is a magazine for people who like racing bikes, or fat guys like me who like reading about people who race bikes.  In my opinion it’s the best bike magazine there is.

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Bikes and components, Reviews, technology (geek) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to VeloNews Rocks!

  1. rlhoover says:

    Yes. Bike mags have their place. On the flight home from a family reunion in Florida, I told my wife that I wanted the recent issue of CycleSport to read on the plane. She found it and the flight home was over in no time. I loved the British humor and my wife told me that she had not seen me laugh that much for years. A good bike mag can keep me motivated during horrible weather.

Leave a Reply

