One Year Gone

Myself on February 11th 2010

Myself on February 11th 2011

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in lifestyle, Weight Loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One Year Gone

  1. I hope to look as good as you do in a year’s time. Congrats! 🙂

  2. Ondrew says:

    Well done. BTW I really enjoy your blog!

  3. tracywilkins says:

    Dude, you look seriously smaller! Good job….

  4. Hi Matt I found your blog thru my friend Brian Deneal your blog gives me some hope and inspiration, 7-11-11 i was 348 lbs and today i am 324 rode my GT Vantara 24 miles from Rado to Hburg and back yesterday i know thats nothing to some but something to me, already have thoughts of getting a road bike creeping into my head, made a deal with the wife who thinks food and clothes and such is more important than a bike when, if , i get down to 300 or below gonna buy a road bike, you think a Trek 1.1 or 1.2 would hold up to a large coal miner? i had to go with better rims and spokes on my GT when i first got it due to them breaking, Thanks Mike McRoy

    • Matt Gholson says:

      Mike its sounds like you’re on the right track. I rode 32 spoke wheels when I weighed 300 pounds and usually had wheel problems. My advice would be to check out some cheap 36 spoke wheels. The ones I’m using on my touring bike were like 150 for the set and seem bullet proof. You’ll never notice you’re pushing 8 extra spokes but they make a much stronger wheel. Any entry road bike would be fine and I wouldn’t be afraid to buy a cheap used one. In fact I know a guy who may want to sell one.

      Congratulations on the weight loss and keep it up!

Leave a Reply

