2011 Barn Door Awards: Blog of of the Year

And the Winner is: There and Back Again

I found a Velo magazine, “Best of 2011″ issue in my mailbox the other day and it’s been making me think of doing something sort of like that here on the Barndoor.  I’m kicking it off tonight with Blogger of the Year, Steve over at There and Back again.

Steve’s latest post cinched it for him, he invited anyone who reads his blog to send a photo of their weekend ride and made a post out of them, a snapshot of riders from around the world.   A simple idea, not rocket science, but ingenious none the less.  He turned tables and made his post about his readers instead about him.  We live in a world full of self centered prima donas, myself included and the internet is the perfect place to show the world how awesome we all are.  Steve instead allowed the world to show how awesome it is.

Stay tuned all this week for more 2011 Barn Door Awards!

About Matt Gholson

Cycling, school teaching, husband.
This entry was posted in Best of, Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2011 Barn Door Awards: Blog of of the Year

  1. I concur, Matt. Steve is a considerate and generous blogger (with good ideas, to boot). I’m hoping it’ll rub off on me someday…

  2. Steve says:

    I would like to thank the Selection Committee and all the little people who made this award possible…

    In all serious, Matt, thank you for your kind words. Coming from the author of a fine blog such as this one, they are high praise indeed. I get far more out of my blog than I put into it, thanks to folks such as yourself.

    Now I have to decide if I’m going to brag about my award on my blog and thereby undercut the very reason I was given it! :)

  3. Pingback: This Is Certainly Awkward | There And Back Again

Leave a Reply

